Go Back   getDare Truth or Dare > Truth OR Dare > Truth or Dare Stories

Old 04-28-2012, 03:54 PM   #1
gvnner1886

Default Touch 'em All

I sat there on the bench not really expecting much. We were down 1 and I had 5 people in front of me in the batting order. We needed a rally and if I knew my brother would come through. You can imagine my surprise when he chased that curveball in the dirt when we needed him.

I had given up hope really then all of a sudden we had a runner on base. As I stood there in the on deck circle, I was so nervous. Part of me wanted the game to be over with me standing there on deck. I didn’t think I was ready to have the weight of the team on my shoulders. I think the pitcher sensed this too. He knew I was a scared little freshman so he pitched around the batter in front of me. He eventually worked a walk and I turned and looked at the coach. He gave me that get in there look followed by several claps. I turned to pick up my bat I had leaned against the fence.

“Tom,” my brother said. “Watch for his fastball.”

I gave him the look. I slowly walked towards the batters box. I felt my heart beating through my chest. I timidly dug my foot in the box and stared out toward the towering figure on the mound. I was intimidated. I quickly asked for time out so I could gather myself. I adjusted my batting gloves looked back at my brother and gave him the wink.

I slammed my feet back in the box and stared out again. I could see that I was the one in control now. I saw the ball bearing away from me as the bat left my shoulder.

“Ping!” the bat rang out.