PDA

View Full Version : Certificate of Correction

oceanstar
10-19-2010, 05:03 AM
Chapter 1- At the Center

Here I am at the the Clark County Correctional Center. Thankfully I'm here as an observer, not a participant. I should explain. My name is Rollin and I'm an attorney. Today I'm here with the Volunteer Law Project representing Jennifer Scott, a 15 year old who came through the juvenile justice system on an alchohol possesion charge. In Clark County Ohio in the year 2010 there are certain offences that can be cleared by the defendant obtaining a "Certificate of Correction". By going through this program their record will be expunged, there will be no jail time or fine, except restitution if appropriate. The program is voluntary, but not everyone opts for it, for reasons which will become clear later.

The introduction of corporal punishment into the criminal justice system did not come about over night. For years, though, politicians and the public had complained about money, sentencing for juveniles and jail space until finally in California in 2004, petty theft,some driving offenses, and vandalism became punishable by caning. Enough of the public liked Southeast Asia's approach to the problem of nonviolent offenses that they were ready to try something new. Other states were quick to follow. In the wake of President Limbaugh's conservative law and order platform, the country was ready to try a return to the woodshed.