Old 09-05-2015, 02:57 PM   #1
Butterfly
A Butterfly Princess <3

Default Making the Grade

I am sitting in the back of the lecture hall feeling pretty defeated. My forehead is resting on my Biology textbook. I studied so hard for our last test, and I felt good when I left the testing room last week, I didn’t think I was going to get an A, but at least I felt like I was going to pass. But my stomach dropped when Professor John handed me my paper with a giant F and a note that said “Speak to me after class”. I don’t know how I am going to pass this class without a miracle.

“Class dismissed” Professor John proclaimed as he started to shut down the equipment.

I stay seated in my chair as the other 124 students file out. I start to pack up my books and get ready to go fight for my academic life. I stand up and straighten my pleated skirt and blouse. I start to walk towards the front of the room but Professor John heads up the stairs towards me. “Let’s talk in my office” he says as he continues to walk past me.
He holds the door to his office open for me, and as I walk in I start to plead my case “Professor, I have been trying so hard. I really thought I had this one. There has to be something I can do to pass the class. An extra credit assignment, I will retake the test, I will hire a tutor, anything; I NEED to pass this class”. He can see the desperation in my eyes, hear it in my voice and as he sits down in front of me he says “I am sure we can work something out”.

Professor John is a very handsome man. It is a good thing he teaches a mostly male dominated program, because I can understand the female students being distracted. He has thick black hair, and dark caramel colored skin. His stunning brown eyes are warm and when he looks directly at you, you can’t help but melt. I have been so focused this semester that I have been mostly immune to his charming good looks … until now.