Go Back   getDare Truth or Dare > Blogs > The Butterfly Effect

A random assortment of reports, thoughts, ramblings and information. Pretty much a view inside my wonderfully complicated, sometimes broken, and entertaining mind.
Rating: 5 votes, 5.00 average.

As luck would have it: Our love story!

Posted 07-06-2016 at 09:22 AM by Butterfly
Updated 08-27-2016 at 10:43 PM by Butterfly

Just over two years ago now, I was having a really rough time at life. I was engaged to a man who I had been with for 6 years. Our relationship had completely broken down. We barely talked most days, and we had not slept in the same room for over a month. I had been considering my options for about 6 months, but we had planned a trip to Disney World and I didn't want to back out as it was already planned and paid for. I was hoping a vacation would rekindle the spark.

It seemed like it did at first. I was renewed with some hope, and came back from the trip, hoping to start discussing some wedding plans. As soon as I mentioned the wedding, he completely shut down and I knew we were back to the way we were before our vacation. However, I just wasn't brave enough to leave because I was in a stable financial situation, we owned a house together, and leaving was scary.

I was also having a crappy time at work. I knew I was going to be relocated to a new department but I didn't know when or where or how. I felt completely out of control of my life.

When I start to feel that way, I usually have two options: self harm, or giving up control.

So I posted an ad on June 17. It was very well written (if I do say so myself). I was clear that I was in a relationship, and that I only wanted somebody to dominate me, give me rules and tasks and support me through that. But I also wanted somebody I could be friends with and talk to.