PDA

View Full Version : Games in DOS

Big_Joe
07-14-2007, 03:24 PM
My cousin just got a new PC with completely blank harddrive no Windows or anything and before he installed windows we wanted to try loading this ancient old game that runs on DOS called 'Mystic Towers' because we used to play it when we were very young.

I'm not experienced in DOS at all and neither is he so i was just wondering if someone could try to explain how i would go about installing and running an old DOS based game.

Also would installing it prevent me from installing windows without risk of serious errors?

andom4444
07-14-2007, 03:36 PM
My cousin just got a new PC with completely blank harddrive no Windows or anything and before he installed windows we wanted to try loading this ancient old game that runs on DOS called 'Mystic Towers' because we used to play it when we were very young.

I'm not experienced in DOS at all and neither is he so i was just wondering if someone could try to explain how i would go about installing and running an old DOS based game.

Also would installing it prevent me from installing windows without risk of serious errors?

just install windows and run it through windows using either dos if you have 98 or below or a dos emulator afterwards.

lucky
07-14-2007, 05:55 PM
some games might not work in windows, but its better to try. Anyway if you install dos you won't have any problem when installing windows. You can format the drive.

Anyway I never tested but heared that big hard disks (over 4G) are not supported by DOS. And FAT32 doesn't support over 32G so you would have to split the hard into more partitions (at least 2 is worth in windows anyway). ...So, better install windows...

absurdvillain
07-16-2007, 01:59 PM
What a bunch of nerds.

damned_virus
07-16-2007, 02:03 PM
knowledge is power, and the world is more digitized then ever, so i learn all i can and respect anyone else who does (y)

lucky
07-16-2007, 02:14 PM