Old 06-09-2015, 05:17 AM   #1
Skex

Default Hannah's Horror

This story was written for Hannah's story contest

Hannah's Horror
Skex and Katyperryfan

Chapter 1: The Capture

Most people who look at me don't really notice me, I'm set dressing, background scenery, an extra in life. I am a freelance IT security consultant in New York City, where I have to spend my days helping idiots who can barely find a power button actually try to be productive using technology that might as well be magic to their puny simpleton minds while not becoming victims of the various cyber criminals that inhabit the internet. The biggest bright side is that it provides access to the information that enables my more lucrative activities.

My other activities you ask? Well let's just say if crime pays, cyber crime pays more, particularly in the financial capital of the universe. A place where so much money changes hands that the budgets of smaller nations could be swallowed in the rounding errors.

I've parleyed my access into an impressive stock portfolio over the years nothing too exorbitant but enough that I could quit tomorrow and never need to work again. Well if my tastes were more mundane.

My tastes and predilections however are far from mundane. I suppose I'm what normal homo sapiens call a sociopath, something to do with lacking sympathy for lesser examples of the species. I suppose that is what an inferior creature has to tell itself to justify its pathetic fearful existence.The trick to survival for those like myself is to mimic the poor weak sheep who surround me. A wolf in sheep's clothing as it were.
I'm a predator in a world where the prey rule which means I have to be smart to avoid detection and still do what I want.

So I play the part, I dress like them I make small talk like them I cluck at all the horrors in the world with them but I am not one of them.